My Cyberdeck project: a wearable computer for the dark future ahead.

SpookyZalost

Technomancer and Cyber historian
Greetings, I am zalost, I'm a tech enthusiast and pro transhumanism. I'm also a HUGE fan of cyberpunk and as such I've always been inspired by the idea of a screenless computer which interacts with us in a natural way.

because of this I've been working on a project for a long time now with tons of research and time spent trying to get a working prototype, I had one working a couple years ago but it wasn't ideal, mostly because I had to carry around a satchel to use it due to it's mass.

while 2.0 is still in the planning stages however I decided to bring Cyberdeck V1 off the shelf and do some upgrades to it.

the current setup is as follows.

1 Logitech Solar powered Multi-device bluetooth keyboard.

1 Raspberry pi Model 3 in a protective shell.

1 MyVu Crystal VIdeo Glasses Display (max Rez 648x480 - Composite video only)

1 TRRS Cable (to link the Video Glasses to the Raspberry pi headphone/AV jack (they're wired the same so nothing special needed beyond this.))

and finally, a very light weight version of debian running in text mode (works great for low rez applications like this, and setup right this is insanely useful.

that's the parts list, I've had most of it setup, the TRRS cable is new to replace a couple TRRS/RCA AV cables with an adapter and thus streamline it some, and a bigger battery, (because 5 hours of semi-constant use wasn't enough for me? lol.)

there some big reasons I went with a raspberry pi, part of it is because of the flexibility of the platform (you can literally make it do just about anything), and part of it is because of it's low power requirements.